Royal Festival Hall, London

Gavin Bryars The Sinking of the Titanic / Jesus’ Blood Never Failed Me

Steve Reich  Music for 18 Musicians
London Philharmonic Orchestra directed by Micaela Haslam

March 2017


Bryars: “The performance was deeply moving, the London Philharmonic totally engaged, under the direction of Micaela Haslam”

Reich:  “Music for 18 Musicians expanded with glorious clarity and élan and commitment as we were taken on a breathtaking journey of pulses and patterns”

Classical Source (Amanda-Jane Doran)


Bryars: “gently evocative under Micaela Haslam’s direction”

Reich:  “… a piece that used to be the exclusive preserve of bespoke ensembles … here, 14 LPO instrumentalists, together with four members of Synergy Vocals, showed that it could become the repertory work it deserves to be.  This was a performance of tremendous concentration and sustained energy”

The Guardian (Andrew Clements)

Posted in Reviews.